Cambodia in Pictures: A Side of the Country You Haven’t Seen

© Emily Lush 2017

This photo essay was created for Cartogramme.

“Cambodia is divided into 25 provinces, each with a commercial center of the same name but with the prefix of Krong (so, Krong Siem Reap is the capital of Siem Reap province). Phnom Penh is classified as an administrative zone, and is in fact an enclave within Kandal province. It’s a bit of a cliché, but the ‘real’ Cambodia really does lie outside the big cities. Thankfully, it only takes about 15 minutes to escape from the sprawling capital and see it for yourself….” View the photo essay on Cartogramme.